The Bean Trees

Average Overall Rating: 4
Total Votes: 3086


This is a study guide for the book The Bean Trees written by Barbara Kingsolver. The Bean Trees, first published in 1988, is the first book written by Barbara Kingsolver, followed by a sequel Pigs in Heaven. The protagonist of the novel, Taylor Greer, a native of Kentucky, finds herself in Oklahoma near Cherokee territory. The novel begins with a woman leaving an American Indian infant with Taylor. Please click on the literary analysis category you wish to be displayed. Back and Next buttons can guide you through all the sections or you can choose to jump from section to section using the links below or the links at the left.
The-Bean-Trees Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Published: February 11, 1998
Pages: 272 pages
ISBN#: 0060175796
Choose to Continue:
Novel Summary
Character Profiles
Metaphor Analysis
Theme Analysis
Top Ten Quotes
Essay Q&A
Buy The Book!